Monday, June 4, 2018

The Wolf Among Us Season Two Delayed Until 2019

Telltale announced on their website, that due to the "fundamental changes" (likely referring to the restructuring after a round of layoffs that happened due to a toxic environment that cultivated in the studio after the surprise success of the first season of The Walking Dead), The Wolf Among Us Season Two has been delayed until 2019.

They've stated that the reason for the delay is because they are "committed to exploring new ways to tell our stories. Taking this extra time will allow [them] not only to focus on quality but also to experiment and iterate in order to craft something truly special".

If this means that the gameplay will be significantly different than the cut-and-paste style gameplay that's been in Telltale's games since The Walking Dead, then the delay is certainly most welcome.

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Shenmue III Delayed Until 2019

The much-anticipated continuation of the saga of Shenmue by series creator Yu Suzuki's Ys Net has been postponed until 2019.

Shenmue began on the Dreamcast in 1999 and Shenmue II will be released on the Dreamcast and Xbox a few years later. Both of the original two games will be released in high definition on Windows, PlayStation 4 and Xbox One later this year.

Shenmue III has been postponed, according to publisher Deep Silver, to give the project extra time which will be "used to polish the quality of the game even further, to the high standards it deserves and release the product in the best possible timeframe".

Monday, April 2, 2018

Wagamama Alice and The Hundred Day's War English Tranlsation

I have obtained permission to translate the free Japanese visual novel/RPG, Wagamama Alice and The Hundred Day's War, into English. The translation is being done through GitHub so you can check it out on my repository if you're interested.

Since I posted about it on the game's forums, I thought I'd do a little progress update. It's still early days yet, as the translation just began on March 19th, and it's just me doing the translation at the moment.  There has been noticeable work that's been done so far though.

As you can see from the header image, I have created an English logo. I've also translated some of the user interface art:

Then there's the most important, but a bit more boring stuff. It doesn't come with pretty images, but the opening scene has now been translated into English.

I'll make sure to keep you all updated as the translation project progresses. :)

Thursday, March 22, 2018

Curse of Monkey Island & Maniac Mansion On Steam And GOG!

The Curse of Monkey Island and Maniac Mansion are available to buy again thanks to the licensing staff at the games division of Lucasfilm, Disney, Steam, and!

You can pick up Maniac Mansion at Steam and, and The Curse of Monkey Island at Steam and as well.

If you're still in the mood for classic LucasArts goodness, there's a Monkey Island Promo on where the Monkey Island Special Edition and the Monkey Island 2 Special Edition are each 70% off their regular price!

Telltale Shakeup

I last posted adventure game news way back in... 2016! Holy Moly! Since then, a lot has been going on at Telltale:

They've completed season one and season two of Batman, season two of Minecraft: Story Mode, season one of Guardians of the Galaxy (season 2 hasn't been announced... but it's pretty inevitable), and Season Three of the Walking Dead.

Plus, they announced season two of The Wolf Among Us (yes!), and announced that season four of The Walking Dead will be the final season.

Even more surprisingly, Kevin Bruner quit and Dan Connors stepped back temporarily as CEO. Then, Pete Hawley, the former general manager of games at Zynga replaced Dan Connors as CEO.

Then, on the 7th of November, a little more than a month after Pete Hawley became CEO, Telltale laid off 25% percent of its staff.

According to The Verge, the atmosphere at Telltale was toxic long before Pete Hawley came in. Kevin Bruner apparently stifled creativity and pushed employees into long crunch times.

Dan Connors was mentioned to be a much less imposing figure, but Pete Hawley isn't off to a great start. But some employees are hopeful that they'll have more creative freedom going forward.

I hope so as well. This blog was once named "Telltale Fan" after all. I wish the employees who are still at Telltale luck that they'll be able to once again make the games they want to, without being overworked. And, I wish those that lost their jobs luck in the future. If any of you haven't yet landed a new job, hopefully you will soon. And hopefully the next job will be your dream job.

I'm back

Sorry for the extremely long wait between posts. Thank you for your patience and understanding during the break.

The recent deaths of people close to me hit me pretty hard and I needed to take a break away from things for a while.

I'll be catching up with news for a while, and hopefully things will get back to normal soon.

And, it has to be said again - thanks again. You all are awesome.

Saturday, June 3, 2017

In Memory of Kelley Stage

I apologize for not updating this blog at all yet this year.  A girl I went to high school with, Kelley Stage, was murdered by her husband in 2015, and the trial of her husband hit me harder than I thought it would.  I didn't leave her a proper dedication on this page, but I'd like to do so now.

I suffered a lot of physical and emotional abuse in high school, as all of my friends were two years younger than me. So I suffered being beaten, burned, and enduring sexual abuse my junior high and early high school years with very little support from anyone.

Kelley was among the very few that was kind to me, and let me eat lunch at her table and made me feel welcome.  She and a handful of others are among the reason why I'm here today, as I wouldn't have been able to go on without kindness like she showed me. Sadly, I hadn't seen her since high school, and I never got a chance to thank her for her kindness because her monster of her husband took her away from the world and, worst of all, away from her kids.

So I leave this memorium to Kelley Stage, 1980-2015
She is gone, but she'll never be forgotten.